A voter gets inked in Lakhimpur Kheri (Image: PTI)

A voter will get inked in Lakhimpur Kheri (Picture: PTI)

Barring just a few incidents of scuffle and Digital Voting Machine (EVM) malfunctioning, the state election fee mentioned polling was concluded peacefully on all of the 13 seats.

Uttar Pradesh witnessed a mean voter turnout of practically 58.09 p.c within the 13 constituencies that went to polls on Monday within the fourth part of Lok Sabha Elections 2024. Barring just a few incidents of scuffle and Digital Voting Machine (EVM) malfunctioning, the state election fee mentioned polling was concluded peacefully on all of the 13 seats – Shahjahanpur (SC), Kheeri, Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Hardoi (SC), Mishrikh (SC), Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah (SC), Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur and Bahraich (SC).

As per the info shared by the state election fee, the voter turnout in constituencies was – Shahjahanpur (SC) 53.24, Kheeri 64.73, Dhaurahra 61.91, Hardoi (SC) 57.57, Mishrikh (SC) 55.79, Unnao 55.44. Farrukhabad 58.97, Etawah (SC) 56.38, Kannauj 61.00 Kanpur 53.06. Akbarpur 57.66, Bahraich (SC) 57.45 and meeting sub-constituency 136-Dadraul 53.31 p.c.

“Polling in all 13 Lok Sabha Seats went out peacefully. In an effort to guarantee a free and truthful voting course of, webcasting was organized at a complete of 14,126 polling locations, which was supervised in any respect three ranges by the District Election Officer, Chief Electoral Officer and Election Fee of India,” mentioned Navdeep Rinwa, State Chief Election Officer whereas addressing the press late on Monday night.

Rinwa mentioned that webcasting videography was additionally organized at 5,420 polling stations. By classes eligible for postal poll voting within the fourth part (corresponding to voters above 85 years of age, Divyangjan, Important Companies and Polling Personnel), postal ballots have been forged by 35,045 voters.

Within the 13 Lok Sabha seats, the Bharatiya Janata Occasion (BJP) had repeated 11 sitting MPs and named two new candidates – Ramesh Awasthi from Kanpur and Anand Kumar from the Bahraich-SC seat. The Samajwadi Occasion, a key member of the opposition INDIA bloc, had fielded candidates on 11 Lok Sabha seats on this part, whereas the Congress had fielded its candidates on two seats – Kanpur (Alok Misra) and Sitapur (Rakesh Rathor).

Of those seats, the fourth part of the LS Polls witnessed a high-profile ballot battle in two constituencies – Lakhimpur Kheri and Kannauj. The BJP had fielded Union minister Ajay Mishra Teni, whose son is an accused within the 2021 Lakhimpur Kheri violence case, from Kheri. On the Kannauj seat, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav contested as SP’s candidate.

On the day of voting, Akhilesh Yadav accused the BJP of rigging polls, claiming there have been complaints of voting being disrupted in polling cubicles. “As quickly as I arrived, the goons ran away from the cubicles,” claimed the SP chief at Chhibramau in Kannauj district.

Dip in Voter Turnout

Rinwa, whereas evaluating the voters turnout with that of the 2019 Lok Sabha Polls, mentioned that the common voter turnout on these 13 Lok Sabha Seat within the 2019 Election was 58.75 per cent.

Although the common voter turnout was just a bit low from the previous figures, this was not the primary time when the common voter turnout remained low. The nation’s most populous state, UP, witnessed a 57.34 per cent polling share within the 10 constituencies within the third part, held on Could 7, which was 2.58 per cent decrease compared to that in 2019. Previous to this, the primary part of 2024 elections in eight parliamentary constituencies noticed a 5 per cent decline in voter turnout compared to 2019 elections on the identical seats. In phase-1 polling on April 4, the turnout was 61.11 per cent whereas in 2019, the turnout in eight constituencies was 66.37 per cent.

The same development was witnessed within the second part polling (April 26) on eight Lok Sabha seats. There was a 6.71 per cent decline in turnout in 2024 polls compared to 2019. Within the 2024 election, 55.19 per cent voter turnout was recorded whereas the 2019 election noticed 61.90 per cent turnout in eight LS constituencies within the first part.

Discover in-depth protection of Lok Sabha Election 2024 Schedule, Voter Turnout, Upcoming Section And A lot Extra At News18 Web site


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here