NCP MP Praful Patel resigns from Rajya Sabha
Picture Supply : @PRAFUL_PATEL NCP MP Praful Patel resigns from Rajya Sabha

NCP chief Praful Patel on Tuesday tendered his resignation as a member of the Rajya Sabha after being re-elected to the Higher Home of Parliament earlier this month. Patel, who had 4 years left in his fifth time period, was fielded within the Rajya Sabha elections as he was going through a disqualification petition filed by the NCP’s Sharad Pawar-led faction.

“Shri Praful Patel, an elected Member of the Council of States (Rajya Sabha), representing the State of Maharashtra, resigned his seat within the Rajya Sabha and his resignation has been accepted by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha, wef the twenty seventh of February, 2024,” a Rajya Sabha bulletin mentioned on Tuesday.

Patel, who has aligned himself with Ajit Pawar within the NCP’s factional struggle, was elected to the Rajya Sabha for a fifth time period in July 2022. In a put up on X, Patel mentioned, “I used to be elected because the Rajya Sabha MP for the tenure of 2022-2028. I’ve resigned from my four-year balanced previous time period of Rajy Sabha membership as I’ve been elected on Rajya Sabha for a brand new time period, which might be efficient from 2024 to 2030.”

“Therefore, I proceed to be the member of the August Home until 2030,” he added. The NCP-Sharadchandra Pawar, the brand new title of the Sharad Pawar-led group, had filed a disqualification petition in opposition to Patel below Part 2(a) of the Tenth Schedule, which gives for disqualification on grounds of defection.

The acceptance of Patel’s resignation from the Rajya Sabha will pave the best way for him to begin a contemporary time period within the Higher Home rather than Vandana Chavan, who completes her tenure in April. Ajit Pawar, the nephew of Sharad Pawar, walked out of the NCP with a majority of occasion MLAs final July and was sworn in as a deputy chief minister within the Shiv Sena-BJP authorities.

Just lately, the Election Fee recognised the Ajit Pawar group as the true NCP and allotted the occasion’s ‘clock’ election image to it. Maharashtra Meeting Speaker Rahul Narwekar has additionally recognised the Ajit Pawar-led group as the true NCP. The Election Fee will now must name for a bypoll to fill the emptiness created by Patel’s resignation.

(With inputs from PTI)

ALSO READ | Praful Patel declared Ajit Pawar-led NCP candidate for Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra

ALSO READ | Rajya Sabha Election 2024: 7 SP MLAs cross-voted for BJP in Uttar Pradesh, declare sources


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here